Question: What are the four parts of the British group?

The United Kingdom, also called the U.K., consists of a group of islands off the northwest coast of Europe. It is a unique country made up of four nations: England, Wales, Scotland, and Northern Ireland. England, Wales, and Scotland also make up Great Britain.

What are the 4 main parts of Great Britain?

The United Kingdom comprises four geographic and historical parts—England, Scotland, Wales, and Northern Ireland.

What are the four parts of the British Isles?

The United Kingdom is made up of four constituent parts: England, Scotland and Wales, forming Great Britain, and Northern Ireland in the north-east of the island of Ireland.

How is Great Britain divided?

Government type and administration:

Britain is divided into four parts: England (London), Wales (Cardiff), Scotland (Edinburgh) and Northern Ireland (Belfast). Locally is Britain divided into counties. The capital of the whole Britain is London.

What is the smallest part of the UK?

4. the parts of great britain

  • Northern Ireland.
  • Northern Ireland It is the smallest part of Great Britain. – …
  • Industry in Northern IrelandThe Northern Ireland economy is the smallest of the four economies making up the United Kingdom. …
IT IS INTERESTING:  Is it expensive to go to uni in London?

Why is Ireland Not in the UK?

When Ireland declared itself a republic in 1949, thus making it impossible to remain in the British Commonwealth, the UK government legislated that even though the Republic of Ireland was no longer a British dominion, it would not be treated as a foreign country for the purposes of British law.

Is UK and England the same?

The UK is short for The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland… quite a mouthful! It is a sovereign state (in the same way as France or the USA) but is made up of four countries; England, Scotland, Wales and Northern Ireland.

Is Scotland ruled by England?

Scotland has limited self-government within the UK as well as representation in the UK Parliament. Certain executive and legislative powers have been devolved to, respectively, the Scottish Government and the Scottish Parliament.

What are the 9 regions of England?

England is divided into 9 geographical regions. These are London, the North East, North West, Yorkshire, East Midlands, West Midlands, South East, East of England and the South West.

Are Scotland and Ireland part of the UK?

The United Kingdom is made up of four constituent states: England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland.

What are British areas called?

List of regions

Name Population Area
Yorkshire and the Humber 5,502,967 15,405 km2 (5,948 sq mi)
East Midlands 4,835,928 15,625 km2 (6,033 sq mi)
North East 2,669,941 8,579 km2 (3,312 sq mi)
England 56,286,961 130,311 km2 (50,313 sq mi)

What are states called in England?

The United Kingdom consists of four components, referred to as “countries”. These are England, Wales, Scotland and Northern Ireland. So these are the “states” of the British Union.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Can I own a samurai sword in the UK?

Why was England divided?

The country was divided between the Marcher Lords, who gave feudal allegiance to the crown, and the Principality of Wales. Under the Tudor monarchy, Henry VIII replaced the laws of Wales with those of England (under the Laws in Wales Acts 1535–1542).

What are the 3 largest counties in England?

Largest counties in UK

10 largest UK ceremonial counties by area Area (km2) Population (2015)
1. North Yorkshire 8,654 1,140,400
2. Lincolnshire 6,975 1,066,100
3. Cumbria 6,766 498,000
4. Devon 6,706 1,169,200

Which is the largest county in UK?

Yorkshire is the largest traditional county of England.

How many countries are still under British rule?

There remain, however, 14 global territories which remain under the jurisdiction and sovereignty of the United Kingdom. Many of the former territories of the British Empire are members of the Commonwealth of Nations.

Far, close Great Britain