Quick Answer: Is County Laois in northern or southern Ireland?

County Laois Contae Laoise
Website www.laois.ie

What counties are in Northern Ireland?

Northern Ireland is divided into six counties, namely: Antrim, Armagh, Down, Fermanagh, Londonderry and Tyrone.

What province is Laois in?


What counties surround Laois?

Laois is a county in the province of Leinster, Ireland. It is bordered by counties Tipperary (in Munster), Offaly, Carlow, Kilkenny, Kildare and Westmeath.

What counties are in the South of Ireland?

Counties of Ireland

  • Ireland has four provinces: …
  • Munster: South part of the island including counties Clare, Cork, Kerry, Limerick, Tipperary, Waterford.
  • Connacht: West part of the island including counties Galway, Leitrim, Mayo, Roscommon, Sligo.

What is the most dangerous city in Ireland?

DUBLIN city had the highest crime rates in Ireland last year, with gardaí in Louth and Waterford also investigating more offences than the national average per 100,000 of population.

What is the poorest county in Ireland?

People living in Donegal have the lowest level of disposable income in Ireland, according to CSO figures. Based on 2016 data, the average Donegal person has after-tax income of €15,892, which is 29% lower than the nationwide figure of €20,638.

IT IS INTERESTING:  Does New England still make guns?

What is County Laois famous for?

Laois, the Basics

Between 1556 and 1920 Laois was officially known as “Queen’s County” in honor of Queen Mary (“Bloody Mary”). Cars registered in County Laois have the letters LS on their numberplates.

How many towns are in Laois?

There are approximately 1,162 townlands in County Laois, Ireland.

List of townlands of County Laois.

Townland Abbeyleix
Acres Town
Barony Cullenagh
Civil parish Abbeyleix
Poor law union Abbeyleix

What is the main town in Roscommon?

Roscommon (Irish: Ros Comáin, meaning ‘Saint Coman’s wood’) is the county town and the largest town in County Roscommon in Ireland. It is roughly in the centre of Ireland, near the meeting of the N60, N61 and N63 roads.


Roscommon Ros Comáin
Country Ireland
Province Connacht
County Roscommon

What’s the second smallest county in Ireland?

The largest county in Northern Ireland is county Tyrone, at 3,155 km². The smallest county in Ireland is county Louth, which is just 820 km² in area – 9 times smaller than county Cork. The next smallest is county Carlow, which is 896 km².

How many acres is Laois?

Laois has an area of 1,719.6 km² / 424,921.9 acres / 663.9 square miles.

Where was Kings County in Ireland?

County Offaly, in Ireland was formerly known as King’s County. It is located in the Irish Midlands in the province of Leinster and consists of 771 square miles with its greatest length being 52 miles from the River Ollatrim near Moneygall to the boundary near Edenderry.

IT IS INTERESTING:  How much are customs fees from UK to US?

What is the richest town in Ireland?

Dublin is the wealthiest city, especially south Dublin which is one of the wealthiest areas of Europe and the world. The Cork region closely follows behind.

What is Southern Ireland called?

As well as “Ireland”, “Éire” or “the Republic of Ireland”, the state is also referred to as “the Republic”, “Southern Ireland” or “the South”. In an Irish republican context it is often referred to as “the Free State” or “the 26 Counties”.

Is Ireland a rich or poor country?

In terms of GDP per capita, Ireland is ranked as one of the wealthiest countries in the OECD and the EU-27, at 4th in the OECD-28 rankings. … GDP is significantly greater than GNP (national income) due to the large number of multinational firms based in Ireland.

Far, close Great Britain